Pennies

My bank is dry.

I have no more words to give.

I try to withdraw,

but ERROR 

reads on the screen.

 

I used to be rich.

The words flowed

like liquor of the 1920s. 

I bled 

for the written word,

but now 

I can’t even buy a vowel,

let alone a consonant.

 

Leave me be.

I beg you.

Let me wallow 

in the library 

begging for a sentence,

any sentence.

 

I am bankrupt.

It is no fault of my own.

Give me the pennies 

of the alphabet

I’ll make them words.

I promise you.

 

One thought on “Pennies

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

