The Truth in Banned Books

Books are meant to be read. I do not agree with censoring knowledge from our youth. When I was in 7th grade, I was reading at an upper high school level. I have to say, I would not be the person I am if I was unable to read and expand my mind at my own pace.

The week of September 21st-27th is banned book week.  I scoured my way through ALA’s list of popular banned books from the 2000s until today. So here are the banned books I have read:

  1. Harry Potter (series) by J.K. Rowling banned because: anti-family, occult/Satanism, religious viewpoint, violence
  2. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck banned because: offensive language, violence
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee banned because: offensive language
  4. Gossip Girl (series) by Cecily von Ziegesar banned because: homosexuality, sexually explicit, offensive language,
  5. The Giver by Lois Lowry banned because: violence,
  6. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson banned because: language, religious veiw-point
  7. The Earth, My Butt and Other Big, Round Things by Carolyn Machler banned because: offensive language, sexually explicit,
  8. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley banned because: insensitivity; nudity; racism; religious viewpoint; sexually explicit
  9. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini banned because: Homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit
  10. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause banned because: sexually explicit
  11. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien banned because: language, voilence
  12. Junie B. Jones (series) by Barbara Park banned because: I didn’t find a true reason.
  13. The Lovely Bones banned because: sexually explicit, and language
  14. Crank by Ellen Hopkins banned because: drugs, offensive language, and sexually explicit
  15. The Hunger Games (trilogy) by Suzanne Collins banned because: sexually explicit, and violence, anti-family, anti-ethic
  16. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer banned because: religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group
  17. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie banned because: language
  18. Looking for Alaska by John Green banned because: Offensive language, sexually explicit, unsuited for age group

It shocks me how revealing banned book reflect the problems of our culture. Many of the “sexually explicit” reasoning is because of a vague rape scene or a female teen embracing her sexuality. The Kite Runner‘s homosexuality too is rape. Many of the “offensive language”s are because the book is a product of its time. Quite a few of the violence is because of suicide. All of these things are apart of life.

Someday I want to write a book so true it is a banned book.

I used this ALA article and this one too.

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

